What you’ll learn in this article…
- Dual enrollment and AP Cybersecurity can generate college credit in high school.
- University of Bridgeport partnered with CYBER.ORG to expand early college cybersecurity pathways.
- About 26 states cover dual-enrollment tuition, while 12 states leave families paying.
Can a high schooler earn college credit and an industry certification in cybersecurity (Cybersecurity Certifications Guide) before a four-year tuition bill? Often, yes. Dual enrollment and early college agreements let juniors and seniors take college-level cybersecurity courses while still in high school, and AP Cybersecurity debuts nationally in the 2026-27 school year.
The catch is transferability. A course or certification only counts where a college agrees to accept it, and the same course may be a major elective at one school and a general elective at another. Written confirmation is the only way to know.
That transfer question, not the course title, separates a real early college pathway from a costly detour.
Dual Enrollment, Early College, Summer Camps and CTE: How the Options Differ
The biggest trap for families is assuming a course with cybersecurity in the name earns college credit. Many summer camps, after-school clubs, and even some CTE classes build skills and confidence without producing a transcript line or credit that transfers. Use this table to tell credit-bearing options apart from enrichment programs before you commit time or money.
| Pathway | Who Runs It | Earns College Credit? | Typical Cost to Family | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dual Enrollment (also called concurrent enrollment) | High schools partner with a community college or university. | Yes, if the course is college-level and you pass. | Often free or low cost through state or district agreements; varies by state. | Students ready for college coursework who want a head start on a degree. |
| Early College High School | A school district and a partner college operate a multi-year program. | Yes, students can graduate with college credits or an associate degree. | Usually no tuition to families; fees, books, or transportation may apply. | Motivated students who can commit to college classes over several years. |
| AP Cybersecurity or AP Computer Science with a security focus | High schools offer the course; College Board runs the exam. | Possibly, depending on AP exam score and the college's credit policy. | Course is free at public high schools; AP exam fee applies, with reductions for eligible students. | Students planning to attend a college that grants credit for strong AP scores. |
| CTE Cybersecurity Pathway | School districts, regional CTE centers, or state career and technical education programs. | Sometimes through articulation agreements, but industry certifications are more common. | Often free or low cost in public schools; certification exam fees may be extra. | Students who want hands-on skills and an industry certification while in high school. |
| Summer Cybersecurity Camp or Academy | Universities, nonprofits, or companies run short programs on campus or online. | Typically no college credit; you may receive a certificate of completion. | Fees vary widely; some are free and some charge hundreds of dollars. | Students exploring cybersecurity for the first time or building skills without a long commitment. |
| Virtual Academy High School Cybersecurity Course | State virtual schools, school districts, or online charter schools. | Sometimes if the course is dual enrollment; otherwise high school credit only. | Usually free for in-state public virtual school students; private online schools charge tuition. | Students without a local program or who need a flexible schedule. |
How to Earn College Credit in Cybersecurity in High School
Yes, high school students can earn college credit in cybersecurity, most often through dual enrollment or dual credit courses offered by a community college or university. AP Cybersecurity is adding a second cybersecurity career path for students: it launches nationally in the 2026-27 school year as a yearlong College Board AP Career Kickstart course with a 130-minute exam.1
The fastest route: dual enrollment
Dual enrollment lets you take an actual college course while still in high school. If your high school has a partnership, you may enroll through the college; if not, ask whether individual enrollment is allowed. Credit earned this way appears on a college transcript and usually transfers as an elective or, if the course matches a required class, as a major requirement. It is not just a high school grade.
AP Cybersecurity: new, but credit is college-by-college
AP Cybersecurity is designed as the equivalent of a one-semester introductory college cybersecurity course and has no prerequisite courses.2 However, finishing the high school course does not automatically earn college credit. Each college decides whether to award credit or placement based on the exam score. As of October 2026, many institutions are still publishing those policies; the first group of colleges granting credit for AP Cybersecurity exam scores is expected to be released in spring 2027.3 So treat it as a strong signal of preparation, not a guaranteed transcript credit yet.
Free curriculum is not credit on its own
Curricula like CYBER.ORG can be used inside a high school class, but completing the materials alone does not earn college credit. Credit attaches to an approved dual-enrollment course, a transcripted college course, an exam, or a recognized credential. Some students using the Cisco Networking Academy option in AP Cybersecurity may prepare for the CCST Cybersecurity credential, but whether cybersecurity certifications are worth it depends on the role of the credential; that employer-oriented certification is separate from AP college credit.4
Eligibility basics
- Grade level: often 10th through 12th; some colleges allow younger students for select courses.
- GPA: commonly around 2.5 to 3.0, though selective courses may set higher standards.
- Placement tests: qualifying ACT, SAT, ACCUPLACER, or state-specific scores may be required.
Cybersecurity Certifications High School Students Can Earn
High schoolers have several entry-level certification options that are realistic before graduation, though fees and eligibility rules vary. The table below lists four commonly discussed credentials with current pricing and student discount programs where available. Certifications are not college credit, but some colleges award credit for certain credentials, so learners should verify transfer policies with the school they plan to attend.
| Certification | Provider | Age/Eligibility | Exam Fee | Voucher or Discount Options |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ISC2 Certified in Cybersecurity (CC) | ISC2 | 16 years | $199 USD | The One Million Certified in Cybersecurity program offered a complimentary exam voucher, but enrollment closed on May 20, 2026; vouchers issued before that date remain valid through December 31, 2026. |
| CompTIA ITF+ | CompTIA | U.S. high-school juniors and seniors who are 16 or older | Not specified | Eligible students can use the CompTIA Academic Store; the source reports discounts of up to 50% and verification through SheerID. |
| CompTIA Security+ | CompTIA | U.S. high-school juniors and seniors who are 16 or older | Roughly $220 through the academic store; discounted from $439 | Eligible students can use the CompTIA Academic Store; the source reports discounts of up to 50% and verification through SheerID. |
| CodeHS Cybersecurity Level 1 Certification Exam | CodeHS | Not specified | Not specified | CodeHS allows voucher codes to be shared for a class, school, or whole district; students redeem the codes within CodeHS. |
University of Bridgeport and CYBER.ORG: What the Partnership Announcement Tells Us
The line between high school preparation and college-level cybersecurity training is thinning, and formal partnerships are beginning to name that shift. In a PR Newswire release, the University of Bridgeport announced a partnership with CYBER.ORG to expand early college pathways into cybersecurity career paths for high school students. The goal is to let students earn college credit, pursue industry-recognized cybersecurity certifications, and move toward two-year degrees, four-year degrees, or workforce entry.
What the announcement actually confirms
The release frames this as a development-stage early college cybersecurity model. UB and CYBER.ORG plan to adapt existing cybersecurity curricula and build an academic framework that reaches public, private, and charter high schools, including some without an early college partner. CYBER.ORG, an initiative of the Cyber Innovation Center with CISA support, provides K-12 cybersecurity curriculum aligned with industry certification objectives, plus professional development and classroom resources.1 UB brings an ABET-accredited School of Engineering, cybersecurity and AI programs, and Hands-On Cybersecurity Labs like the IET Lab. The announcement also describes this as the first time CYBER.ORG's curriculum is paired with a university partner for an early-college pathway.
What has not been published yet
This is an institutional announcement, not a quality review or a finished enrollment pathway. The release does not confirm how many credits students will earn, which UB courses will map to the coursework, whether credits will appear on a UB transcript, or whether they will transfer elsewhere. No credential name, exam, eligibility rule, tuition, launch date, or participating school list has been published.
What to look for in an online program
For students weighing online cybersecurity schools, this partnership is a signal rather than a proven path. Check whether a program publishes clear dual-enrollment credit routes, course equivalencies, transfer articulation, and certification prep tied to named industry credentials. Early college can shorten the route, but only when the credit and credential details are written down.
Costs, Tuition and Fees: What Families Should Expect
Is Dual Enrollment Cybersecurity Free?
Not automatically. Funding depends on your state and district. According to state policy tracking, about 26 states cover tuition for eligible dual-enrollment students, 12 states leave families to pay, and another 12 share costs.1 Even when tuition is covered, that often means tuition only. Textbooks, fees, certification exams, and transportation may still be yours to cover.
Where the Costs Show Up
- Tuition: Community college dual-credit rates in 2026 examples commonly run from $97 to $165 per credit.4 High-school-taught courses can be $0 in some districts.5
- Fees: Technology, activity, or course fees , online cybersecurity program hidden fees , can add $5 to $100 per course or term.
- Books and tools: Textbooks and software or lab access are often separate. A 2019 national cost model puts materials and equipment around $40 per credit, but actual charges vary widely.1
- Certification exams: Industry exam fees and vouchers are frequently not part of tuition, so ask for a cybersecurity certification cost and renewal fees comparison before enrolling.
Realistic Price Examples
In a 2021-2022 Virginia review, school divisions paid around $24 per credit, or roughly $200 for a three-course sequence, while colleges reported spending closer to $59 per credit.2 Missouri State lists $75 per credit for dual credit and $100 per credit plus a $60 per credit fee for dual enrollment.3 South Dakota's state-supported rate is $145 per credit with a state subsidy of $96.67.1 Indiana's CTE dual credit can run from $0 to $25 per credit, with free or reduced lunch eligible students often paying $0. Ohio, North Carolina, and Alabama have policies that can waive tuition for qualifying students.1 These examples show how location, delivery format, and state policy change the final bill.
Free Curriculum Is Not Free Credit
Some free cybersecurity training is available to schools, but free materials do not automatically create college credit. Credit-bearing dual enrollment may still carry tuition or fees unless your state or district pays them. Always ask for a total cost worksheet that includes exams, books, and transcript fees.
Before you enroll, compare costs district by district: the same cybersecurity dual-enrollment course may be fully covered by one high school and come with tuition or fees at another.
State Policy Momentum Behind Cybersecurity Pathways
Texas put $55 million into its K-12 Cybersecurity Initiative for fiscal years 2024 and 2025, and lawmakers added $42 million more for 2026 and 2027, according to a Congressional Research Service report.1 That money funds school cybersecurity support rather than a single statewide dual-enrollment course, but it signals how states are treating cyber readiness as an education priority.
Where the Momentum Is Strongest
- Indiana's 2026 Statewide Cybersecurity Pathway plans to grow from 69 to 200 high schools and from roughly 560 to 4,000 students within three years. Students can combine AP Cybersecurity, Project Lead the Way, dual credit, or a mix, and earn college credit, work-based learning, and in-demand cybersecurity certifications.2
- North Carolina's Career & College Promise has long been tuition-free and includes three dual-enrollment pathways, one of which is career and technical education.3 Local districts can use that frame to insert cybersecurity coursework.
- Alabama's Workforce Pathways Diploma, starting fall 2025, lets students substitute three CTE courses for two math and two science credits and earn industry credentials. Talladega County Schools launched a cybersecurity pathway across three high schools in 2023-24.4
Uneven Access, Not a Guarantee
Nationally, a 2026 Center for American Progress analysis found 35 of 46 states named developing or implementing dual or concurrent enrollment or other college credit pathways, and 25 of 51 states funded accelerated learning.5 That means access is expanding, but where a family lives, what local districts negotiate, and which online cybersecurity degrees by state are available still determine opportunity. Policy momentum also does not guarantee program quality; a state-funded pathway can still have thin curriculum or weak alignment with cybersecurity degree workforce demand. Families should verify credit transfer and certification exam alignment before committing.
How to Find Programs Near You, Including Virtual Options
Start locally, then expand
Begin with your school counselor and ask whether your district already has dual enrollment or early college agreements with a community college. Next, contact a nearby community college dual enrollment office to confirm which cybersecurity courses carry transcripted college credit. Then check your state CTE office or department of education for approved cybersecurity pathways and virtual academy listings.
Online and virtual options
Yes, online cybersecurity programs exist for high schoolers, though many are state or regional. Vermont Cyber Start offers online dual enrollment for Vermont juniors and seniors through Champlain College, with up to nine transferable credits. University of Montana's Cybersecurity Essentials is free for most Montana high school students and earns three credits. Governors Cyber Academy at Dakota State University provides online dual-credit cybersecurity coursework for students in South Dakota and beyond. In Texas, Tomball Virtual Academy of Cybersecurity is a fully online four-year pathway launching fall 2027 for Class of 2031 eighth graders; it can lead to a high school diploma and associate degree with up to 60 credits at no cost.
Individual vs. school-partnered enrollment
Some programs, such as Vermont Cyber Start and Montana's Cybersecurity Essentials, use a direct college application or dual enrollment form. Others run through a school or district portal. Expect to provide transcripts, proof of grade level or residency, and parent or guardian consent.
Before committing, ask:
- Is the credit transcripted by a regionally accredited college with cybersecurity degree accreditation, not just a private training provider?
- Who pays for tuition, fees, materials, and certification exam vouchers?
- Does the credit transfer to our target colleges and how will it appear on a transcript?
- Is the instruction fully online, hybrid, or tied to a fixed live schedule?
- Are there residency or age restrictions if I apply as an out-of-district student?
Related Articles
Pitfalls to Avoid and How Credits Fit an Online Degree
The biggest shift in early college cybersecurity is not the coursework; it is the paperwork that determines whether credits actually transfer. A student can earn a stack of credentials in high school and still start a bachelor's program with zero transferable hours if no one checked the fine print.
Credit That Does Not Travel
Summer camps and many CTE sequences award certificates of completion, not college credit. Without an official transcript from a regionally accredited college, those hours generally cannot be applied to a degree. Non-transferable credit is the most common pitfall. A course may sound advanced yet satisfy no general education or major requirement because the receiving academic department evaluates content, level, and grade on a case-by-case basis.2 Vendor lock-in is a second trap: vendor-specific cybersecurity certifications tied to one platform may help a resume but do not guarantee credit at another institution.
Oversight Signals Worth Checking
Start with the credit-granting school. Regional accreditation is an institutional baseline, not a transfer promise. For concurrent enrollment, NACEP accreditation means the program is peer reviewed against 16 standards and the course is taught to college-level expectations1, but the receiving college still controls transfer. At the destination, an ABET-accredited online cybersecurity degree3 or an NSA National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity designation4 signals program rigor; neither substitutes for a signed articulation agreement.
How Credits Fit an Online Degree
Early credits may allow a student to place out of introductory courses and shorten an online cybersecurity program at the associate or bachelor's level. Confirm articulation agreements before enrolling, not after. About 39 states have transfer frameworks, yet only 8 states have a quality assessment mechanism5, so policies vary. Ask the college you plan to attend for transfer decisions in writing before paying for a high-school pathway.










