What you’ll learn in this article…
- ASU's CyberAI SFS scholarship offers $27,000 to $37,000 annual stipends.
- CyberCorps SFS requires government cybersecurity work after graduation.
- About 500,000 U.S. cybersecurity roles remain unfilled this year.
Can you actually complete an affordable cybersecurity degree without student debt while U.S. employers struggle to fill about 500,000 open roles? The 2026 scholarship pipeline makes that more plausible than it was a few years ago, but only if you treat aid as a system rather than a list of free money.
CyberCorps Scholarship for Service awards cover full tuition and a living stipend. ASU's new NSF-backed AI-Augmented Cybersecurity Scholars Program adds rolling applications and a direct path into government entry-level cybersecurity jobs.
Private awards and employer tuition reimbursement can fill gaps, yet stacking rules and postgraduation service obligations determine the real cost.
How Federal Cybercorps and NSF Scholarships Can Fully Fund Your Degree
The biggest trade-off in cybersecurity scholarships is simple: the more a program pays, the more it asks of you after graduation. CyberCorps Scholarship for Service (SFS) sits at the far end of that spectrum. Funded by the National Science Foundation4 and administered by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management5, it is the closest thing to a full-ride pathway for cybersecurity students because it combines tuition coverage with a living stipend and a professional development allowance.
What the 2026 Award Actually Includes
For 2026, NSF and OPM list the standard SFS stipend at $27,000 per academic year for undergraduates and $37,000 per academic year for graduate students.1 Tuition and education-related fees are covered separately. Each scholar also receives a $6,000 per year professional allowance, which can cover job fairs, travel, conferences, research materials, books, supplies, a one-time laptop, training, or cybersecurity certifications.1 The award does not cover meal plans, housing, or parking.
The Service Obligation
After graduation, you agree to work in a qualifying government cybersecurity or AI mission role for a period equal to the length of your scholarship, with support available for up to three years.2 Eligible employers include federal, state, local, and tribal government agencies.3 For many career changers, that obligation is a feature: it creates a direct path into cleared government work and mission-critical AI security roles.
Program Scope
CyberCorps participating schools are not assembled in one master public roster, so check directly with universities. Examples include UNC Charlotte, UMBC, URI, Binghamton, CSUSB, Georgetown, and RIT. Some university pages still show older stipend figures, so confirm the current 2026 amount on the program's official application page.
Why It Matters for Career Changers
If you are switching into cybersecurity from another field, tuition coverage plus a stipend changes the math. You can study full time without private loans, and the $6,000 allowance covers certification exams, travel to government job fairs, and conference networking. Previous SFS scholars have landed cybersecurity jobs at federal agencies, national laboratories, and state security offices, which can make the service period feel more like a structured first job.
ASU's AI-Augmented Cybersecurity Scholars Program: A 2026 Pipeline to Government Roles
Undergraduates accepted into ASU's AI-Augmented Cybersecurity Scholars Program receive a $27,000 annual stipend, and graduate students receive $37,000 per year. Both also get $6,000 in professional development funding each year, making this one of the most fully funded cybersecurity training routes in the country.1 ASU is one of 14 universities selected for the inaugural National Science Foundation CyberAI SFS awards.2 Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis, with selections generally made before each semester. Led by Professor Gail-Joon Ahn, a 2026 fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery, the program pairs scholarship support with hands-on AI cybersecurity research.
Research and placement: a direct line into federal agencies
ASU's previous Scholarship for Service effort placed 35 scholars at the National Security Agency, FBI, Department of Homeland Security, Sandia, Pacific Northwest and Lawrence Livermore national laboratories, the Federal Reserve, and the state of Arizona.2 The new CyberAI program continues that pipeline while focusing research on how AI can defend digital systems and how adversaries can use AI to attack them. Recipients accept a service obligation to work in the Federal Government after graduation for a period equal to the scholarship years, with a small number allowed in state, local, or tribal government. Summer government internships are required, though doctoral students may substitute research with advisor recommendation and NSF approval.
Why AI skills matter for career planning
This AI focus is not incidental. With a cybersecurity workforce shortage of roughly 500,000 unfilled U.S. roles, employers increasingly need professionals who understand both security fundamentals and AI-enabled threats. The Fall 2026 cohort covers three semesters, and current or prospective students in computer science, computer systems engineering, or software engineering with a 3.25 GPA can apply. For career changers, a funded cybersecurity degree program with a government placement pipeline can reduce upfront debt while building the exact skills agencies are hiring for.
Right now, U.S. employers are trying to fill roughly 500,000 unfilled cybersecurity roles, according to an Arizona State University news release on the NSF CyberAI SFS program. That gap makes 2026 an unusually strong year to apply: scholarship programs are actively building the pipeline to fill those roles.
Other Major Cybersecurity Scholarships Open in 2026
Several private and demographic-specific scholarships round out federal funding options. Deadlines below include both 2026 cycles that have closed and awards still open through late 2026 and into 2027. Women and underrepresented groups can find targeted support, while some awards are renewable.
| Scholarship | Deadline | Award Amount | Eligibility | Renewable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Women In Cybersecurity Scholar Fund (Cyber Defense Awards) | December 16, 2026 | Not specified | Women pursuing or working in cybersecurity; exact requirements not fully specified | Not specified |
| ESET Women in Cybersecurity Scholarship | April 8, 2026 (passed) | Not specified | Applicants must identify as women and pursue a career or degree in cybersecurity or related field; essay required | One-time award |
| ISC2 Center for Cyber Safety and Education Academic Scholarships | March 15, 2026 (passed) | Up to $5,000 | College freshman through doctoral students majoring in cybersecurity or information assurance at accredited institutions; GPA and other academic criteria apply | Single academic year; reapply for future years |
| Hackers Against Hate: Diversity in Information Security Scholarship | April 26, 2026 (passed) | Not specified | Students pursuing information security or cybersecurity who identify with underrepresented groups in tech | Not specified; appears one-time |
| Maryland Cybersecurity Public Service Scholarship | October 15, 2026 | Not stated | Maryland residents enrolled full-time or part-time in approved cybersecurity degree or certificate programs in Maryland; 3.0 cumulative GPA; completed at least 25% of required credits | Full-time up to 2 additional years; part-time up to 5 additional years if requirements met |
| AFCEA Cyber Security Scholarships | November 1, 2026 | $5,000 | U.S. citizens enrolled full-time as at least second-year students in cyber security, computer science, IT, digital forensics, or electronic engineering; minimum 3.0 GPA | One-year award; reapply for future years |
| WGU Cybersecurity Scholarship | June 30, 2027 | $1,500 per six-month term | Enrolled in eligible WGU cybersecurity programs; meet WGU scholarship and academic criteria | Renewable up to four six-month terms with continued enrollment and satisfactory academic progress |
| Global Undergraduate Cybersecurity Scholarship | March 31, 2026 (passed) | $1,000 to $5,000 | Full-time sophomores, juniors, or seniors majoring in computer science, cybersecurity, or related field; minimum 3.0 GPA | Single-year award; renewal not described |
| Need-Based Cybersecurity/IT Scholarship | January 15, 2026 (passed) | $2,500 | Enrolled in accredited university pursuing cybersecurity, IT, or computer science; minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA; U.S. citizens or permanent residents; demonstrate financial need | One-time award; renewal not specified |
Can You Stack Scholarships and Employer Tuition Reimbursement?
As more students combine federal awards, employer benefits, and outside scholarships, including cybersecurity scholarships for military spouses, financial aid offices are enforcing cost-of-attendance caps that determine which dollars actually reduce the bill. That makes stacking possible, but not automatic.
The Short Answer
Yes, you can stack scholarships and employer tuition reimbursement, but institutional rules vary. Outside scholarships must be reported to the financial aid office, and total aid cannot exceed the school's cost of attendance for your cybersecurity degree program.1 When the package goes over that cap, the school, not the student, decides what gets reduced.2
Three patterns shape the outcome: - Stacking: Aid adds on top until the cost-of-attendance limit.2 - Displacement: Outside scholarship replaces existing aid, often institutional grants.2 - Self-help-first: Loans and work-study are reduced before grants, usually the most student-friendly.3
Ask the financial aid office which pattern applies before you accept an outside award, especially one paired with employer reimbursement.
Apply in the Right Order
Aim to apply federal and state aid first, then any tuition remission or employer benefit, then outside scholarships. Under federal rules, if total aid exceeds your calculated financial need by more than $300, the school must reduce need-based aid.3 It has discretion over which component to cut.2 That is why an outside award can sometimes replace a grant rather than add to it.
Where CyberCorps SFS Fits
CyberCorps SFS benefits and employer tuition reimbursement are both treated as resources in the aid package, so they can often be combined only up to cost of attendance and any program-specific terms.1 If the total is too high, the school reduces something, but the order is school-specific.2 Before accepting a reimbursable plan, ask which funds get cut first.
Employer Tuition Reimbursement: What Defense Contractors and Big Tech Actually Pay
How Big Tech Caps Compare
RTX offers the clearest high-end policy for 2026: 100 percent of tuition, books, and fees, up to $25,000 per calendar year, with no lifetime cap for eligible full-time employees. CACI sits in the middle at $12,000 per fiscal year for full-time staff and $6,000 for part-time. Reported figures put Microsoft at $5,250 per year for undergraduate and $10,000 for graduate coursework, Verizon at $8,000 per year, and Intel at up to $50,000 for approved graduate business programs. Many employers stay at or near the $5,250 annual Section 127 tax-free limit.
Degree Costs and Scholarship Stacking
A $25,000 benefit can cover a large share of an online cybersecurity master's program, but a multi-year degree may still exceed that cap. More common $5,250 to $12,000 reimbursements leave a gap you may need to fill with scholarships, federal aid, or savings. Reimbursement is typically paid after you finish approved courses with passing grades, so plan for upfront tuition or a payment plan. Check whether your school reduces institutional scholarships when an employer payment arrives, because some aid packages adjust.
Eligibility and Repayment Strings
Most programs require preapproval, job-related courses, and at least 6 to 12 months of tenure before you qualify. Policies can vary by business unit, role, and region, and some employers do not publish fixed caps at all. Leaving shortly after a reimbursed course may trigger repayment or clawback, but exact terms are rarely public, so ask HR for written policy before enrolling.
Service Obligations Compared: Cybercorps SFS Vs. Other Federal Awards
Choosing a federal cybersecurity scholarship means accepting a specific service commitment. The table below contrasts the CyberCorps Scholarship for Service with the DoD SMART Scholarship, the NSA Stokes Educational Scholarship, and other federal cybersecurity award programs. Use the service length and placement agency columns to decide which pipeline fits your career goals and relocation flexibility.
| Program | Funding length | Stipend (per year) | Tuition coverage | Post-graduation service requirement | Typical placement agencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CyberCorps SFS | Up to 3 years | $27,000 | Tuition and education-related fees covered; housing, meal plans, and parking excluded | One year of government service per year of funding | Federal, state, local, or tribal cybersecurity roles |
| DoD SMART Scholarship | Renewable in later years; full tuition each funded year | $30,000 to $46,000 | 100% of tuition and mandatory fees with no financial cap | One year of civilian DoD employment per year of academic funding | Department of Defense laboratories or facilities |
| NSA Stokes Educational Scholarship | Tuition assistance while enrolled; paid NSA summer work periods | $30,000 | Up to $30,000 per year in tuition assistance | 1.5 years of NSA employment per year of scholarship support | National Security Agency as a federal employee |
| Other Federal Cybersecurity Awards | Varies by specific program | Varies by program; may include full or partial support | Full or partial tuition depending on program | Government cybersecurity employment equal to or greater than scholarship length | Various federal, state, local, or tribal government roles |
In exchange for full tuition and a living stipend, scholars commit to a cybersecurity role in a government agency or eligible public-sector organization after graduation.
Are Cybersecurity Scholarships Taxable? Stipend and Allowance Rules
What Is Tax-Free vs. Taxable
Scholarships and fellowships are tax-free only when they pay for qualified education expenses: tuition, required fees, books, supplies, and required equipment at an eligible institution, and only if you are a degree candidate. Amounts used for room and board, travel, or optional equipment are taxable.
Stipends follow the same logic. A stipend is tax-free if it is a true scholarship or fellowship used for qualified expenses with no service requirement. If the stipend is compensation for teaching, research, or required work, such as an assistantship or a service obligation, it is generally taxable. CyberCorps SFS support is treated as either a qualified scholarship or compensation for required government service, so students should confirm the classification before spending the full amount. Service-linked payments are taxable unless a narrow exception applies, such as the National Health Service Corps or Armed Forces Health Professions programs.
Professional Development and Reporting
Professional development allowances are excludable only for qualified education costs. Travel, lodging, meals, conference attendance, and memberships are taxable. If an employer provides educational assistance, up to $5,250 per year can be excluded.
Taxable scholarship amounts reported on Form W-2 go on Form 1040, line 1a. If no W-2 is issued, report the amount on Schedule 1, line 8. Nonresident alien students may face 14% or 30% federal withholding on nonqualified amounts unless a tax treaty applies. Because tax treatment changes the net value of an award, set aside funds for possible withholding or estimated taxes and plan before accepting a service-obligation package.
How Competitive Are Cybersecurity Scholarships? Benchmarks and Winning Profiles
What Selectivity Looks Like
CyberCorps Scholarship for Service acceptance rates land between roughly 12% and 20% depending on the school and year, but NSF publishes no single national rate.12 Selectivity often shows up in local criteria. UNC Charlotte, for example, requires a 3.0 undergraduate GPA or 3.2 for graduate students and two faculty recommendation letters4, while BYU recommends a 3.5 or higher.5 Meeting the floor is not a guarantee of acceptance.4 Even with that selectivity, the completion payoff is strong: 95.3% of 2025 SFS graduates were placed in qualifying roles by October 2025.3
Strong Applicant Profile
The strongest 2026 applications combine citizenship or permanent residency with federal clearance eligibility6, solid technical grades, and visible hands-on work. That work might include hands-on cybersecurity labs, cyber defense teams, CTF competitions, research, internships, or prior cybersecurity jobs. A clear public-service motivation matters in CyberCorps selection, not just technical ability. Faculty or mentor references who can speak to both technical skill and commitment carry weight.
Apply Broadly
Because some awards are far more selective than others, treat CyberCorps as one lane in your cybersecurity career path, not the whole plan. Pair a competitive federal application with smaller private scholarships, employer-funded awards, and school-specific funds. Private scholarship winners often show AI or security projects, competitions, or work experience, but thresholds vary widely. A balanced list of reach, match, and less competitive awards gives you more ways to cover tuition without debt. Do not skip lower-profile awards just because the dollar amount is smaller.
Related Articles
Your 2026 Scholarship Application Timeline and Document Checklist
Use this month-by-month plan to stay ahead of both fixed-date private scholarships and rolling federal programs.
- August–September 2026Request transcripts, update your resume/CV, and ask 2–3 references. Draft personal statements for private scholarships and begin your CyberCorps SFS essay.
- October 2026Complete the FAFSA as soon as it opens for the next aid year. Verify that your transcripts and reference letters are ready.
- November–December 2026Submit applications with fixed deadlines, which often fall between December and February. Double-check each program's essay prompts and required forms.
- January–March 2027Apply to rolling programs like ASU's AI-Augmented Cybersecurity Scholars Program at any time; there's no single cutoff. Confirm references have submitted letters.
- April–May 2027Compare aid packages and service obligations. Accept awards and complete any CyberCorps SFS-specific paperwork for your government placement pathway.










